Andrew's Russian Learning Journey

December 2023 Wrap Up

Read and Chill

Table of Contents

  1. Monthly Stats
  2. Highlights
  3. Anki
  4. Speaking
  5. Listening and Reading
  6. Overall and Next Month

First, as always, before I get into the meat of the update, here are my Anki and Toggl stats.

Also this month's update is going to be short and sweet, as I'm going to be publishing a 2023 year in review as well.

My Anki

Anki

My Toggl

Toggl

Highlights

Read a ton this month, relaxed a lot during winter break, and generally just looking forward to the new year!

Anki

I said I was going to do every day in December last month, and I did 29 days. I'll take it.

Speaking

Had a few italki lessons, a few other lessons, and some language exchanges. Mostly cruising on speaking right now, while also working on shadowing. Currently practicing a short clip of Нагиев, which is mostly for the memes. I'll post it here whenever I feel like my pronunciation is in a decent spot.

I'm just not consistent enough with my soft consonant to hard consonant transitions, especially when it is the same letter. Onwards!

Listening and Reading

I listened to 0 audiobooks this month.

I also read 3 books:

  1. Тайная опора
  2. Антидемон 1
  3. Антидемон 2

Тайная опора (The hidden support) is probably the most famous/popular parenting book in the Russo-sphere. It's good, engaging, approachable, and just overall a pleasant read. It's also quite short (~250 pages?).

Антидемон is a series I started that I'm just absolutely tearing through. It's probably the most tropey shonen you could possibly imagine, but it's like comfort food after you haven't been home in months. I'm just eating it right up. There are 9 books in the series and I'm likely going to just speed read through all of them.

Watching

So much random YouTube this month. Only real highlight to call out is that I started watching a streamer who curses like a sailor. Learned quite a few shiny new words to test out.

Overall and Next Month

Being just shy of 100 hours/month is a good place to be in. I don't anticipate that being maintained for the foreseeable future, but I might surprise myself. Still deciding on goals and focuses for 2024, so stay tuned for more!

Thanks for reading! Закругляюсь!